2023 Hall of Fame Inductee

By gcrick
August 7, 2023

The TBT Hall of Fame dinner was held on Saturday 5th August 2023 with Michael Pope being inducted into the Tasmanian Hall of Fame. Unfortunately, Michael couldn’t attend due to health issues and his award was accepted by the 2022 Inductee Tony McDonald who read an acceptance speech from Michael.

Over the many years of Mike’s bowling career, he has been a member of both Rachuig and ATBSO
state teams, coach and manager for Men’s, Ladies and Junior state teams plus also managed teams
in the 80’s and 90’s.
Mike bowled for 10 years in the UK in the early 70’s before coming to Australia. During his career he
represented Tasmania in Rachuig on 10 occasions between 1973 to 1995 bowling 135 games. He
also made 6 ATBSO teams bowling 64 games. Mike won the Launceston, Hobart & ATBSO Masters
and has a personal high game of 286 and a high series of 728.
Mike bowled in all of the major leagues in Hobart, was an active member of many committees and
served as Vice President of the Southern Tasmanian Tenpin Bowling Association for 15 years.

Michael Pope


  • Related article

    TBT AGM – 7th April 2024

    The TBT AGM will be held at the Campbell Town Recreation Ground Complex on Sunday 7th April 2024 commencing at 11am. Garry & Carol both have one year to run on their terms as Chair & Secretary. The Vice Chair & Treasurer positions are coming up for re-election and we seek nominations for both those […]

  • Related article

    TBT Junior Committee AGM 24th February 2024

    The Junior Committee AGM will be held at the Campbell Town Recreational Complex (meeting room 2 ) on 24th February 2024 at 11am. Positions vacant – President, Secretary & Treasurer. Expressions of Interest can be emailed to [email protected]. Map to AGM